Tarot vs. Oracle Cards and Why and How I Love Both!

Empress and Mother Earth cards

First of all, please always remember this is just my opinion.  I don’t claim to be an expert, just an enthusiast!  Here’s how I see it, after asking and being asked this question myself.

For the curious, on the top left is The Empress from the Radiant Rider-Waite tarot deck, and on the right is Mother Earth from the Spirit of the Wheel oracle deck.  You can get (and I got) both on Amazon.

Why I love tarot cards:

Tarot cards are unique in that they are said to contain the entire story of being human. This makes them awesome storytellers. If you want to know more of the story, more of the truth, more of the past, present, or future of your life, tarot is the way to go. Each card represents something that happens in every single human being’s life, and no matter what’s going on with you, there is a card in the tarot that talks about it. So in theory, the tarot cards provide Spirit with a way to tell you about anything that has happened, is happening, or is going to happen to you.  No matter what tradition the deck follows, such as Rider-Waite, Thoth, Golden Dawn, Hermetic, Goddess, Native American, or any other of a myriad of choices, if it calls itself a tarot deck, it’s making us this promise.

Very cool in my opinion. And that’s their greatest use, too, if you ask me. I use the tarot to answer questions like, “What do I need to know about this?” Tarot is all about being able to see the truth that we miss with our eyes and egos. They are all about the truth, whether it’s comfortable or not, which is what I’m all about, so we get along wonderfully.

Why I love oracle cards:

Oracle cards, on the other hand, follow no specific outline and are designed merely to give you a way to communicate with Spirit. I’m sure most authors endeavor to include something that will cover any life situation you might ask about, but they all do it in their own way and with their own intentions. In my opinion, oracle cards are the best thing to use when you are looking for specific advice. Most oracle cards are much heavier on the advice and much lighter on the storytelling, although it varies widely simply because oracle cards themselves vary widely. I use oracle cards to answer questions like, “What should I do about this?” or “How can I change this?” if it’s something I don’t like, or “How best can I take advantage of the energy around this?” I absolutely love them for that, since I’m all about manifesting what I want in my life. I want practical magic that creates the life I want, not just exciting secrets and pretty promises.

Another magical use for oracle cards involves making a closer, more intimate connection with specific spiritual realms.  The most popular example would be all the different types of angel oracle cards.  What a wonderful way to get to know the angels and hang out with them on a daily basis, immersing yourself in their energy and wisdom, love and healing.  They’re the best way I know of to connect with the angelic kingdom, and I’ve learned more about how to work different types of angels through them than any other tool.  Another popular example is oracle cards with the theme of animals.  I love these.  Through them, I’ve learned what specific wisdom different animals have carried onto this planet for us, and I’ve been just astounded at how powerfully that has supported me at times.  I also have oracle cards that help me connect with sacred geometry, the living language of light, colors, crop circles, Atlantis, artistic inspiration, the ascended masters, crystals, the divine feminine, and Native American teachings.  Different situations and feelings and energies in my life align with different ones of these helpers on the journey, and I love having all these choices of places to go for love and support.  And really, I’m just getting started with that.  I plan to collect many more.

Lately, I’ve seen people doing some amazing readings using both at the same time. Now, I guess I’m old school because it never occurred to me to do that, but watching some readings on YouTube, I’ve realized what an in-depth, incredibly practical reading you can have that way. You use the tarot to get the story of what was, is, and/or will be, then you use oracle cards to get advice on how best to make use of that situation! I love it. And because oracle cards are usually simpler than tarot, it doesn’t add a great deal of time and effort to pull oracle cards for any part of the tarot story that makes you desire some advice. I’m definitely going to incorporate these into my professional readings now that I’ve experimented with them for awhile in my own personal readings.  I think it’s going to be so cool to tailor my readings with just the right tarot and oracle deck for that particular person’s realm and spiritual essence, since that is part of my gift of helping people rediscover the path to their greatest power and clearest spiritual connection.

So, if you’re wondering which I like better, tarot or oracle cards, I would say that I absolutely love both and my choice of which to use totally depends on the situation. If I want quick advice, I grab an oracle card, and if I want lots of advice, I do an oracle spread. If I want to know more about the story of something and look behind the scenes of what I think is there, I’ll do a tarot reading. And if a tarot card tells me a story that inspires me to seek advice, I’ll pull an oracle card to give it.  And if I have time and the space to do it, using both will give me the most complete picture of the situation as well as the best way to make use of it.  What could be better?

Some newer tarot decks are more like a combination tarot/oracle, too, so that’s an option I’ll use if I don’t want to bother with two decks. My Cosmic Tribe Tarot is like that, and I’ve seen some others, such as the Osho Zen Tarot and the Psychic Tarot. I can’t speak as much about that yet as I’m new to the idea and have no real experience with it. I do plan to buy both of those particular decks in the future, and I do plan to do deck reviews and interviews, so if you’re interested in that, make sure you follow my blog, and if you know of any others, I’d LOVE to hear about them!

So what do you think? Do you prefer one over the other? Do you use a combo of tarot and oracle? I’d LOVE to hear your ideas on it, and also any recommendations of tarot decks that have a great oracle slant to them as well, since they’re kinda new to me. Thanks! And please know, every single positive comment adds Light to my life, and I always send it right back atcha.

Love in the Highest,

Talia

Leave a Reply

